You are here

Annabel Monaghan on Tour - Elm Street Books with the New Canaan Library

Submitted by elmstreetbooks on Fri, 05/03/2024 - 3:19pm

Event Details: New Canaan Library

Please join us on June 18th for an author event at the New Canaan Library with Annabel Monaghan, author of Summer Romance, in conversation with Amy Poeppel. 

With her widely lauded romantic comedies, Nora Goes Off Script and Same Time Next Summer, bestselling author
Annabel Monaghan quickly established herself as a rising star in the genre and one of Putnam’s most beloved writers of
romantic fiction. Her books have earned widespread critical acclaim from outlets like the Washington Post, PEOPLE, USA
Today, Real Simple, Good Housekeeping, and more, and consistently top the lists of best beach reads of the season.
Monaghan returns this June with her highly anticipated third novel, SUMMER ROMANCE, another heart-tugging and
hilarious love story for readers of Carley Fortune, Emily Henry, and Beth O’Leary. Set in a fictional Long Island beach
town, this latest outing centers on Ali, a recent divorcee and professional organizer whose life is a mess, and the summer
she gets unstuck with the help of someone unexpected from her past. Readers who fell in love with Monaghan’s pitch-
perfect prose and balanced blend of genuine emotion with laugh-out-loud wit will find her writing at the top of her game
this swoony romantic comedy, which explores the messiness of grief and longing—and the liberating lightness of a
summer fling.


Benefits of a summer romance: It’s always fun, always brief, and no one gets their heart broken.
Ali Morris is a professional organizer whose own life is a mess. Her mom died two years ago, then her husband left, and
she hasn’t worn pants with a zipper in longer than she cares to remember.
No one is more surprised than Ali when the first time she takes off her wedding ring and puts on pants with hardware—
overalls count, right?—she meets someone. Or rather, her dog claims a man for her in the same way he claimed his
favorite of her three children: by peeing on him. Ethan smiles at Ali like her pants are just right—like he likes what he
sees. He looks at her as if she’s a version of herself she hasn’t been in a long while. The last thing newly single mom Ali
needs is to make her life messier, but there’s no harm in a little summer romance. Is there?


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
Annabel Monaghan is the author of LibraryReads pick Same Time Next Summer and Indie Next and LibraryReads
pick Nora Goes Off Script, as well as two young adult novels and Does This Volvo Make My Butt Look Big?, a selection of
laugh-out-loud columns that appeared in the Huffington Post, the Week, and the Rye Record. She lives in Rye, New York,
with her family.

Event date: 
Tuesday, June 18, 2024 - 6:30pm
Event address: 
New Canaan Library
151 Main Street
New Canaan, CT 06840
Summer Romance By Annabel Monaghan Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780593714089
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - June 4th, 2024