You are here

Author Signing with Claire Lombardo, Author of Same As It Ever Was

Submitted by elmstreetbooks on Thu, 05/02/2024 - 4:46pm

Register Here

Join us on Sunday, June 23rd at 5:00 PM for an author talk and signing with Claire Lombardo, author of Same As It Ever Was

In her ambitious sophomore novel, SAME AS IT EVER WAS —another
elegant and tumultuous story in the tradition of Elizabeth Strout, Ann Patchett, Celeste Ng, and Jonathan
Franzen—Lombardo introduces us to an unforgettable cast of characters, this time by way of a singularly
complicated protagonist, showcasing the consummate style, signature wit, knife-sharp dialogue, knotty
familial bonds, and profound emotional intelligence that made her debut such a breakout family drama.


After a youth marked by upheaval and emotional turbulence, Julia Ames has found herself on the placid
plateau of mid-life. But Julia has never navigated the world with the equanimity of her current privileged
class. Having nearly derailed herself several times, making desperate bids for the kind of connection that
always felt inaccessible to her, she finally feels, at age fifty-seven, that she has a firm handle on things. She’s
unprepared, though, for what comes next: a surprise announcement from her straight-arrow son, an
impending separation from her spikey teenaged daughter, and a seductive resurgence of the past, all of
which threaten to draw her back into the patterns that had previously kept her on a razor’s edge.
SAME AS IT EVER WAS traverses the rocky terrain of real life, exploring new avenues of maternal
ambivalence, intergenerational friendship, and the happenstantial cause-and-effect that governs us all.
Delving even deeper into the nature of relationships—how they grow, change, and sometimes
end—Lombardo proves herself a true and definitive cartographer of the human heart and asserts herself
among the finest novelists of her generation.


Claire Lombardo is the author of The Most Fun We Ever Had. She lives in Iowa City, where she has taught
at the Iowa Writers Workshop and works part-time as a bookseller at Prairie Lights Books.

Event date: 
Sunday, June 23, 2024 - 5:00pm
Event address: 
Elm Street Books
35 Elm Street
New Canaan, CT 06840
Pre-Order Now Badge
Same As It Ever Was: A Novel By Claire Lombardo Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780385549554
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Doubleday - June 18th, 2024